Restricted Section Council

This section is dedicated to members of the ASSAf Council. A password is required to access this section.



Restricted Section Members

This section is dedicated to ASSAf Members. A password is required to access this section.




Evidence-based study project activities form the core of the Academy’s function and are a key area of future development



Join our RSS News Feed.

Stay updated with the latest news from ASSAf


The Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf) is an independent statutory body of eminent South African scientists. ASSAf’s primary objective is to generate evidence-based solutions to the problems and challenges facing South African society.

ASSAf seeks to appoint a Copy Editor and Proofreader for the South African Journal of Science.

“The Leadership Training Programme & Network for Young Physicians”

The Interacademy Medical Panel (IAMP) is seeking candidates to participate in the 2015 Young Physician Leaders Programme in Berlin Germany during the World Health Summit in October 2015.
The programme is articulated in two parts:

  •  10 & 11 October 2015 – A specific leadership development programme with a focus on analysing models of leadership with the
    aim of developing an individual action plan for personal leadership growth for implementation after the workshop.
  • 11 – 13 October 2015 Participation as special guest at the World Health Summit The aim of the programme is to foster a new generation of leaders in global health.
  • icipe, in collaboration with the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), requests applications for doctoral research scholarships in the African Postgraduate Programme in Insect Sciences (ARPPIS) – 2015. A total of twelve ARPPIS PhD Scholarships are available to nationals of any sub-Saharan Country. Successful candidates will carry out their research within selected projects in icipe. The programme is expected to commence in September 2015.