Restricted Section Council

This section is dedicated to members of the ASSAf Council. A password is required to access this section.



Restricted Section Members

This section is dedicated to ASSAf Members. A password is required to access this section.




Evidence-based study project activities form the core of the Academy’s function and are a key area of future development



Join our RSS News Feed.

Stay updated with the latest news from ASSAf


Renowned scientist and Vice-President of the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf), Prof Patricia Berjak, has passed away. She was Professor Emeritus and Head of the Centre for Plant Germplasm Conservation Research in the School of Life Sciences at the University of KwaZulu-Natal, where she worked for most of her distinguished 40-year academic career.

The Academy of Science of South Africa cordially invites you to a Public Lecture on “Technology and Management Practices to Minimise the Human and Environmental Risks of Unconventional Natural Gas Extraction“ by Prof Meagan Mauter

Date: 2 February 2015
Venue: Teaching Venue 3A in the New Snape Building, University of Cape Town (UCT)
RSVP: 30 January 2015 at communications@assaf.org.za

The Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf) and Mintek will be hosting a workshop on Artisanal and Small-scale Mining on 14 and 15 April 2015. The workshop should be of interest to all stakeholders working in or with the ASM subsector across Africa.

The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) – For the advancement of science in developing countries is seeking nominations for the following prizes:
1) the TWAS 2015 Prizes
2) the TWAS- Celso Furtado 2015 Prize in Social Sciences

The Royal Society’s medals and awards have now opened for nominations. The quality and standing of these awards depends on having a good selection of outstanding candidates and as such we urge you nominate the very best researchers for these awards.

Leopoldina German National Academy of Sciences is pleased to announce that nominations may now be submitted to the Leopoldina Study Centre for the Georg Forster Research Award granted by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. The prize is awarded to enable colleagues from transition countries to conduct research in Germany and to collaborate more closely with colleagues from Germany. For additional information, visit: Georg Forster Research Award (http://www.humboldt-foundation.de/web/georg-forster-award.html)

The Sudanese National Academy of Sciences (SNAS) and the Academy of Sciences of South Africa (ASSAf) held a workshop on the Impacts of Artisanal Gold Mining in Khartoum, Sudan on 2 and 3 September, 2014.
Click here to download report

The IAP SEP 2014 Biennial International Conference was held in Beijing on 28-30 October 2014, hosted by the Commission on Education for Children of the China Association for Science and Technology (CAST), the China National Commission for UNESCO, the Children and Youth Science Centre (CYSC) of CAST, and the Chinese Academy of Sciences. The International Conference attracted more than 130 speakers and participants from 19 countries.

The Royal Society of Chemistry has invited ASSAf to be part of an upcoming Roadshow to South African Universities. The Roadshow is aimed at faculty members and students within the chemistry departments of the respective universities.


Professor Jeanine Marnewick
Head: Oxidative Stress Research Centre, Co-chair: Biotechnology for Institute of Biomedical and Microbial Biotechnology,
Faculty of Health and Wellness Sciences, Cape Peninsula University of Technology
‘Rooibos and Heart Health’

Today’s research … tomorrow’s innovation

Three important announcements:
1. We are very excited to join hands with GreenMatter this year. Together, we hope to reach and include all researchers and organisations working in some way for the preservation of the natural environment, and the improvement of people’s lives through care of the environment. The Vision of the NSTF is ‘a science, engineering, technology and innovation (SETI) system responsive to the needs of the nation’, and the Awards are one of the ways in which we strive to realise this. Thus the partnership with GreenMatter is particularly welcome, and we are confident that it will lead to recognition of contributions that have the potential to make a positive impact on South Africa, and on the world.

Distinguished academic and renowned HIV researcher, Professor Quarraisha Abdool Karim has been awarded the 2014 TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize – the most prestigious annual prize of The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS), based in Trieste Italy. Professor Abdool Karim, Associate Director of the Centre for the AIDS Programme of Research in South Africa (CAPRISA) and Professor of Epidemiology at Columbia University in New York, has been recognised for her ground-breaking research on HIV prevention in women.

Deadline: 30 October 2014.
AAS is in the process of setting up Expert Committees in various programmatic activities. In setting up such a committee we are cognisant of the fact that we need to identify world-class experts who may or may not be fellows of AAS. The expert committees are needed to take such tasks as any of the following:

It is a pleasure to invite you to submit nominations/ applications for this prestigious Fellowship awarded for post-doctoral studies in the molecular and cellular biosciences to be conducted in South Africa. The Fellowship will be awarded for a two year period, on a competitive basis, to nationals of any country, for high-level research work in a suitable department, unit or institute of a South African institution that has already agreed to be the host.