ASSAf Members in the News

25 March 2019, 08:17


Prof Cheryl de la Rey
Prof Cheryl de la Rey was honoured with a Science Diplomacy Award at the Department of Science and Technology’s 2018 Science Forum in South Africa. The award was granted in recognition of her contribution to international science co-operation, as well as her contribution throughout her career to the advancement of South Africa’s participation in global science programmes. Prof Cheryl de la Rey is the newly appointed Vice-Chancellor at the University of Canterbury, New Zealand.

Prof Robert Millar
Prof Robert Millar is the recipient of The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) Prize in Medical Sciences for 2019. The prize acknowledges “his fundamental and translational contributions in the field of neuroendocrinology leading to the development of new treatments for hormone-dependent diseases”. He is the Director of the Centre for Neuroendocrinology at the University of Pretoria.

Prof David Richardson
Prof David Richardson has been honoured with the 2018 Kwame Nkrumah Award for Scientific Excellence by the Commission of the African Union. The award recognises him as an outstanding African scientist and acknowledges his achievements, discoveries and innovations in the field of invasion biology. He is Distinguished Professor in the Department of Botany and Zoology at Stellenbosch University and Director of the DST-NRF Centre of Excellence for Invasion Biology at the same university.

Prof Alta Schutte
A second ASSAf Member will be honoured by the African Union Commission: Prof Alta Schutte will be awarded the Kwame Nkrumah for Scientific Excellence Programme’s Regional Award, in recognition of her scientific achievements and valuable discoveries.
Prof Schutte is Prof of Physiology and DST/NRF South African Research Chair in the Early Detection and Prevention of Cardiovascular Disease in South Africa – hosted by the Hypertension in Africa Research Team (HART) at North-West University.

Prof Emile (Willem) van Zyl and Prof Jannie Hofmeyr
Two ASSAf Members are recipients of the Stellenbosch University Chancellor’s Award. They are Profs Emile van Zyl and Jannie Hofmeyr.

Prof Van Zyl has been recognised for sustained excellence in his research career in the field of yeast biotechnology and Prof Hofmeyr for sustained excellence in his research career in the field of systems biology and biocomplexity. Prof Van Zyl is Distinguished Professor in Microbiology and Head of the Microbiology Department at Stellenbosch University and DST/NRF Senior Chair of Energy Research: Bio-fuels.

Prof Jan-Hendrik Hofmeyr is Distinguished Professor of Biocomplexity and Biochemistry and Co-Director of the Centre for Complex Systems in Transition at Stellenbosch University.

Prof Renée Kraan-Korteweg
Prof Renée Kraan-Korteweg was the recipient of the Minister’s Special Award at the Department of Science and Technology South African Women in Science Awards (SAWISA) 2018. The Commemorative MeerKAT award recognises Prof Kraan-Korteweg’s “outstanding contribution to building South Africa’s scientific and research knowledge base in advancing the field of astronomy” and specifically the field of radio astronomy. The award also commends her contribution in training the next generation of radio astronomers. Prof Kraan–Korteweg holds the Chair of Astronomy at the Department of Astronomy at the University of Cape Town. She is Chair of the Astronomy Advisory Council of South Africa, and Vice-President of the International Union for Astronomy.

Prof Glenda Gray, Prof Pumla Gobodo-Madikizela and Prof George Ellis
Three ASSAf Members, Prof Emeritus George Ellis, Prof Pumla Gobodo-Madikizela and Prof Glenda Gray will each be conferred with a Doctor of Laws (LLD) (hc) by Rhodes University during its April 2019 graduation ceremony.

Prof Ellis, Emeritus Professor of Mathematics at the University of Cape Town, will be honoured for his remarkable scholarly contributions in general relativity, cosmology, theoretical physics, and policy (this will be his seventh honorary degree).

Prof Gobodo-Madikizela, Research Chair of Social Change and Transformation at Stellenbosch University, will be honoured for her contributions to the field of Historical Trauma and Transformation.

Prof Glenda Gray, Chief Executive Officer of the South African Medical Research Council, will be bestowed the honorary Doctorate for her unwavering dedication in the field of Paediatrics.

Prof Jean Nachega
Prof Jean Nachega has been admitted as a Fellow of the African Academy of Sciences (AAS). The Fellowship recognises the outstanding contribution that Prof Nachega has made in the field of infectious diseases. He is Extraordinary Prof at Stellenbosch University and Honorary full Professor of Medicine in the Department of Medicine at the University of Cape Town.

Prof Montaz Ali
Prof Montaz Ali was elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society of South Africa. Through the Fellowship, Prof Ali is given recognition as an eminent scientist in the field of Computational and Applied Mathematics. Prof Ali is Prof in the School of Computer Science and Applied Mathematics (CSAM), University of the Witwatersrand.