ASSAf Members in the News

19 June 2019, 11:36


University of Pretoria Academic Achievers’ Awards

Four ASSAf Members were recipients of this year’s University of Pretoria Academic Achievers’ Awards.
They are:

Exceptional Academic Achievers
Prof Lyn-Marie Birkholtz
, Professor in Biochemistry and Director of the National Research Foundation/Department of Science and Technology South African Research Chair in Sustainable Malaria Control.

Prof Rangan Gupta, Professor in Economics.

Excellent Supervisor’s Award
Prof Mike Wingfield
, Forestry and Agricultural Biotechnology Institute/Advisor to the Executive.

The university also recognised the following National Research Foundation-rated researchers:

A-rated researchers

  • Prof Don Cowan
  • Prof Mike Wingfield

B-rated researchers

  • Prof Jacek Banasiak
  • Prof André Boraine
  • Prof Lise Korsten
  • Prof Jean Lubuma
  • Prof Frans Viljoen

Prof Thokozani Majozi
Prof Thokozani Majozi was recently bestowed the Order of Mapungubwe (Bronze) by President Cyril Ramaphosa. Through this honour, he has been recognised as a South African for his outstanding contribution to science, particularly the development of a novel mathematical technique for near-zero-effluent batch chemical facilities that enables the re-use of wastewater. He is Professor in the School of Chemical and Metallurgical Engineering at the University of the Witwatersrand where he holds the National Research Foundation/Department of Science and Technology South African Chair in Sustainable Process Engineering.

Prof Valerie Mizrahi
Prof Valerie Mizrahi has been awarded the Harry Oppenheimer Research Fellowship for 2018. The award recognises excellence and exceptional scholarship in all its forms. She is Director of the Institute of Infectious Disease and Molecular Medicine at the University of Cape Town.


Dr Shamila Nair-Bedouelle
Dr Shamila Nair-Bedouelle has been appointed as the Assistant Director-General for Natural Sciences at the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO). Prior to the appointment, she served as Director of the OzonAction programme in the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP).

Prof Glenda Gray
Prof Gray has been appointed as the President of the South African Medical Research Council for a second term.

Prof Rashid Hassan
Prof Rashid Hassan has been elected as a Foreign Associate of the US National Academy of Sciences (NAS). Through his election, he has been honoured by the NAS for his extraordinary contribution to research. He is the Director of the Centre for Environmental Economics and Policy in Africa (CEEPA), Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences, University of Pretoria.

Prof Salim Abdool Karim and Dr Bernard Fanaroff
Both Prof Salim Abdool Karim and Dr Bernie Fanaroff have been elected as Fellows of the prestigious Royal Society in recognition of their exceptional contribution to science.

Prof Abdool Karim is Director of the Centre for the AIDS Programme of Research in South Africa (CAPRISA) and Dr Fanaroff was the Director of the Square Kilometer Array South Africa and is now a part-time strategic adviser to the project.

Prof Jeffrey Mphahlele
Prof Jeffrey Mphahlele has been appointed Vice-Chair of The European and Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership (EDCTP) Association Board. The EDCTP is an organisation that has fostered partnerships between European countries, developing countries, donors, and the pharmaceutical industry to enable clinical trials and the development of new medicines and vaccines against HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, and malaria. He is the current Vice-President of the South African Medical Research Council.